Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD)

From the Page to the Stage school assembly

Since 1989, Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) has distributed funds from a 1/10 of 1% sales and use tax to cultural facilities throughout the seven-county Denver, Colorado metropolitan area (Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties). The funds support cultural facilities whose primary purpose is to enlighten and entertain the public through the production, presentation, exhibition, advancement and preservation of art, music, theater, dance, zoology, botany, natural history and cultural history.

The distribution budget for scientific and cultural organizations in the seven-county area is approximately $50 million annually. As a result, the Denver Metro Area is in the national spotlight and has been elevated in stature to a world-class cultural center.

Voters reaffirmed their support of the SCFD tax in 1994, 2004 and 2016 by voting to extend the SCFD tax.

Visit for more information.

Return to Top of Page